+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Best To Avoid Me Martoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    8,909

    How To Totally Disable Security???

    Hey guys...ok, this might sound silly, but I want to TOTALLY disable any security settings that might be running on my computer (not on IE though). For whatever reason I'm not pingable and can't connect to game servers...and I have NO firewall running at all. WinXP Pro's firewall is disabled and my Norton Firewall is disabled completely. I even turned Norton off in msconfig and reboot. However, although NOTHING in my system tray resembles any kind of security, I still have files related to Norton showing in my processes. When I click them and "end task", they're still showing up and will not go away.

    Take a look at my processes (if ya don't mind) and let me know what you think.


    Thanks!
    Mike

  2. #2
    Not Really a Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27,895
    come on don't be shy big boy
    show me your processes

    Ya gotta give 'em to us!

    www.grc.com -- run their scanner to see what kind of open ports you have
    If they show ya closed down you may have to run some sort of scrubber to get rid of stupid norton (and people wonder why I hate symantec!)
    Helicopters don't fly; they vibrate so much and make so much noise that the earth rejects them.

  3. #3
    ska7ing away..... doddsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    a long way from home
    Posts
    9,341
    not pingable..................

    router with nat firewall?

  4. #4
    Best To Avoid Me Martoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    8,909
    No router
    No software firewall enabled right now.

    I'm with ya vass...even msconfig doesn't completely stop Norton. WTF?
    About to run that proggie...thanks buddy!


    Wait a minute vass...look what happened when I mentioned GRC here:
    http://www.techimo.com/forum/t115320.html

    EDIT: Oh boy...I must have messed up something...I can't connect to "shields up" on GRC or Sygate's scanner. When I click 'scan now', it goes right to 'Action canceled' IE can't connect to that link...blah blah.

    Seems like java is messed up somehow...
    Last edited by Martoch; July 28th, 2004 at 06:10 PM.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Who uses a firewall?
    By Bizkitkid2001 in forum Security and Privacy Issues
    Replies: 117
    Last Post: February 15th, 2005, 02:42 PM
  2. Internet Script errors
    By jamesy505 in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 19th, 2004, 07:45 AM
  3. HUGE IE HOLE!
    By jkrohn in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: November 21st, 2002, 05:40 PM
  4. How do I totally remove the onboard video?
    By xSSelerate in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: April 1st, 2002, 08:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc