home hardware prices news articles forums photos user reviews
Go Back   Tech Support Forums - TechIMO.com > PC Hardware and Tech > Security and Privacy Issues
Join TechIMO for Free!
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Reply Get bargains at  »  Dealighted.com
 
Thread Tools
Currently Active Users: 1865
Discussions: 188,470, Posts: 2,244,177, Members: 232,725
Old November 12th, 2004, 11:42 PM   Digg it!   #1 (permalink)
Uncommon Man
 
samwichse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,281
Free plane tickets anwywhere: scam?

Hey, I just got an email from "orbitz" saying that I've won free round trip tickets anywhere in the country for some contest that's claimed in the email.

Now, I'm wondering if it's for real, or a scam to get personal information (you have to fill out a form with a LOT of information).

Plus, it refers to the "attached PDF form" when the form is a word .doc file.

???

Sam

samwichse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2004, 11:45 PM     #2 (permalink)
A hero in training
 
GroundZero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 22,774
Blog Entries: 5
Hrm idk

i would call Orbitz site 1-888-656-4546

GroundZero3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 12:03 AM     #3 (permalink)
Uncommon Man
 
samwichse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,281
I just did, and they weren't sure either (they put me on hold ten minutes and when they came back, asked me to forward to customer service).

This is what the real damage spammers have don is: every email has to be handled with latex gloves and a mask because it's potential some kind of CRAP.

Sam

samwichse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 12:07 AM     #4 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
yohon125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hudson, Oh
Posts: 1,348
spam sux, but i would have been suspicious getting an email like that regardless. why would they be contacting you out of the blue like that
__________________
what? like a blue spider? get it off!
http://live.xbox.com/member/BMF Yohon
yohon125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 12:08 AM     #5 (permalink)
A hero in training
 
GroundZero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 22,774
Blog Entries: 5
If they werent sure i wouldnt trust it
GroundZero3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 12:47 AM     #6 (permalink)
Uncommon Man
 
samwichse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,281
I dunno, I'm beginning to see a major lack of cluefulness on any part of the orbitz organization, I'm pretty sure their call center is in India, and the email I wrote (with a forward of the message I received) was replied to in 5 minutes with a form letter and a javascript survey that was broken and wouldn't work in Opera, Firefox, or Konqueror.
samwichse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 12:48 AM     #7 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
LeftCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tampa
Posts: 1,904
Sounds like a phish to me.

Right click on the email HTML, and sometimes you'll see weird sentence fragments in the source code. A little tough to quote off memory, but you'll know the stuff I'm talking about...
__________________
Millions long for immortality who don't know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
Susan Ertz
LeftCoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 01:08 AM     #8 (permalink)
Green-dildo-riding banana
 
The Real Bingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 16,990
Send a message via AIM to The Real Bingo Send a message via MSN to The Real Bingo Send a message via Yahoo to The Real Bingo
So you actually signed up to be in the running for these tickets, or was it a totally random e-mail?
The Real Bingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 04:18 PM     #9 (permalink)
Uncommon Man
 
samwichse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,281
Well, I have bought a couple round trip tickets from Orbitz recently... so I suppose I could be in the running for this, but I dunno.

No sentence fragments, no "one big image" email either.

But, I'd never heard of it, why would they be emailing and not calling me (they've got my number) or even sending me a letter (they've got my address).

Also, the PDF form referred to in the text is actually a word document.
samwichse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2004, 04:24 PM     #10 (permalink)
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy
 
butch81385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 8,466
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
sounds quite fishy, but if its true, congrats
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeshare package advice...free trip questions. jmebonner IMO Community 10 November 3rd, 2008 04:08 AM
Free Flat Screens? devildude8989 IMO Community 10 September 15th, 2004 11:14 AM
Toni Smith maface IMO Community 6 February 26th, 2003 08:52 AM
TEN DOLLAR LAPTOP!!!!! PSU2Fan General Discussion and Buyer Guidance 60 February 12th, 2003 08:14 PM
BBQ at Knothead's! Knothead IMO Community 302 September 10th, 2002 11:47 AM

Most Active Discussions
Is It Just Me? (3000)
"mastermind" of London at.. (65)
Intel Pentium 4 531 (7)
Please don't divorce us (40)
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition (11)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Replacing integrated video card (5)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
building a gaming computer, input p.. (14)
Recent Discussions
can't add picture to this forum (1)
NTVDM CPU has encountered an il.. (8)
canon eos20d problem (1)
I cant sign into msn messenger,.. (8)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
Could I run this set-up (15)
Bought the Visiontek Radeon 387.. (1)
CPU Overheating ?? (18)
Blackberry Storm, Gears of War .. (2)
Core 2 Quad Q9550 system (3)
COWBOOM Ripoff! Used Laptop w/$.. (4)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 AM.
TechIMO Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28