home hardware prices news articles forums photos user reviews
Go Back   Tech Support Forums - TechIMO.com > PC Hardware and Tech > Security and Privacy Issues
Join TechIMO for Free!
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Reply Get bargains at  »  Dealighted.com
 
Thread Tools
Currently Active Users: 1911
Discussions: 188,470, Posts: 2,244,183, Members: 232,725
Old January 5th, 2005, 06:10 PM   Digg it!   #1 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
nodnerb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Antibe.Fr+Vegesak.De
Posts: 1,356
Can someone tell me if this is faked

Hi,

Can anyone tell me if this has come from a genuine Yahoo.com address?

The sender is offering to buy a car from a mate of mine but won't talk on the phone and has some pretty strange proposals to put it mildly that really just scream out scam

I have xxxxxx over some of the names to protect the "innocent"

This is the header of his last one.

Return-Path: <xxxxxxxxxxx@yahoo.com>
Received: from rly-xj04.mx.aol.com (rly-xj04.mail.aol.com [172.20.116.41]) by air-xj02.mail.aol.com (v103.7) with ESMTP id MAILINXJ22-51541da708f32c; Tue, 04 Jan 2005 05:32:12 -0500
Received: from web30104.mail.mud.yahoo.com (web30104.mail.mud.yahoo.com [68.142.200.77]) by rly-xj04.mx.aol.com (v103.7) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXJ41-51541da708f32c; Tue, 04 Jan 2005 05:31:44 -0500
Message-ID: <20050104091248.16560.qmail@web30104.mail.mud.yaho o.com>
Received: from [212.247.114.2] by web30104.mail.mud.yahoo.com via HTTP; Tue, 04 Jan 2005 01:12:48 PST
Date: Tue, 4 Jan 2005 01:12:48 -0800 (PST)
From: xxxxxt <xxxxxxxxxxx@yahoo.com>
Subject: payment
To: xxxxxxxxxxxx@aol.com
In-Reply-To: <xxxxxxxxxxxxx@aol.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1446387810-1104829968=:7559"
X-AOL-IP: 68.142.200.77
X-AOL-SCOLL-SCORE: 1:0:0:
X-AOL-SCOLL-URL_COUNT: 2
__________________
Cheers


Nodnerb2:D

nodnerb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2005, 06:35 PM     #2 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,558
It appears to be possibly genuine. The IP address it was sent from (68.142.200.77) is a genuine yahoo IP. However, the yahoo mail server appears to have received it from another IP address, 212.247.114.2. Which appears to be an undeveloped site.

large_nostril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2005, 06:44 PM     #3 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
nodnerb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Antibe.Fr+Vegesak.De
Posts: 1,356
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I have told my mate to avoid it like the plague.

It really stinks of one of those scams where the scammer pays way over the top for something with what appears to be a genuine bankers draft etc and then several weeks later the bank realises it's a fake and the vendor is way out of pocket.

nodnerb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2005, 09:12 AM     #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodnerb2
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I have told my mate to avoid it like the plague.

It really stinks of one of those scams where the scammer pays way over the top for something with what appears to be a genuine bankers draft etc and then several weeks later the bank realises it's a fake and the vendor is way out of pocket.
angel12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2005, 09:15 AM     #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Hello I was searching for this same problem, did anything ever come to you ?any money orders? and what kind of car did you have for sale? Any info might be helpful,please....
angel12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2005, 10:24 AM     #6 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 1,190
This is the latest scam!

They will send a fake Money Order worth more money then you want and ask you to return the excess money. Your bank credits your account, you forward the extra cash, M.O. found to be a fake, and your bank charges you for all the money. And your out whatever you sent to the scammer.

The US Postal Service put out a warning about this around the end of November. They said to check with USPS to see if thier M.O.'s are legit as these fakes are very good and the banks are not cacthing them.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?

Last edited by nomaxim : January 14th, 2005 at 10:32 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kerry doesnt inhale again! chipbgt IMO Community 94 May 1st, 2004 07:07 PM
Giving Outpatient a run :) Cyclone2 Graphic Design and Digital Photography 14 June 22nd, 2003 09:46 AM
A serious question, War ! cowboybooter IMO Community 16 February 14th, 2003 05:56 AM
J.A.G. on TV alondra IMO Community 13 October 11th, 2002 01:36 AM
hold the button VERT IMO Community 24 September 19th, 2002 03:34 PM

Most Active Discussions
Is It Just Me? (3002)
"mastermind" of London at.. (65)
Intel Pentium 4 531 (7)
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition (11)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Replacing integrated video card (5)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
building a gaming computer, input p.. (14)
I think I just killed my computer w.. (26)
Recent Discussions
WD Hard drive reading the wrong.. (1)
P4MAM2-V Mobo Support For Dual .. (1)
can't add picture to this forum (1)
NTVDM CPU has encountered an il.. (8)
canon eos20d problem (1)
I cant sign into msn messenger,.. (8)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
Could I run this set-up (15)
Blackberry Storm, Gears of War .. (2)
Core 2 Quad Q9550 system (3)
COWBOOM Ripoff! Used Laptop w/$.. (4)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.
TechIMO Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28