home hardware prices news articles forums photos user reviews
Go Back   Tech Support Forums - TechIMO.com > PC Hardware and Tech > Security and Privacy Issues
Join TechIMO for Free!
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Reply Get bargains at  »  Dealighted.com
 
Thread Tools
Currently Active Users: 1910
Discussions: 188,470, Posts: 2,244,172, Members: 232,724
Old August 4th, 2005, 05:26 PM   Digg it!   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
I might not be in the right forum... but

In searching for the meaning of mud.mail.yahoo I found an old post that led me to this site.
So, I will ask my question here.
I have gotten myself into an email conversation that is turning odd. Here's the senerio.

I posted a message on Craigslist.com looking for a multifamily home to purchase. Many people contacted me about buying a home that I had for sale.
Anyway, this one person states they are from Africa and want to buy my home. I send them a polite email telling them of them of the misunderstanding.
Being the friendly and honest person that I am, our emails continue.
In a nut shell, she asks for a home in Atlanta. I write back telling her I can't help her, I am in the north east.
She writes back asking again to see the pics of the home I have for sale. I remind her that I don't have a home for sale and I send her several real estate links.
Now, I hear from her husband saying they want a 1 million us dollar home and their lawyer will be in touch with me and he mentioned a commission. No dollar amount.
Okay, now I am thinking they are not interested in a home. They want something but I don't know what.
I'm starting to be worried, yet curious.
If they can afford a million dollar home, then they have the smarts to use a realtor and find real estate through a website and not me. Also, they certainly don't need a multi family home.
I can't find their names or id's on Yahoo. Here is the details of the email that I received.
can someone give me any clue to what this may be about?
Thanks,
Sally

Return-Path: <udokagi@yahoo.com>
Received: from rly-xh02.mx.aol.com (rly-xh02.mail.aol.com [172.20.115.209]) by air-xh02.mail.aol.com (v107.10) with ESMTP id MAILINXH22-48e42f232dd2ca; Thu, 04 Aug 2005 11:23:38 -0400
Received: from web33911.mail.mud.yahoo.com (web33911.mail.mud.yahoo.com [66.163.178.75]) by rly-xh02.mx.aol.com (v107.10) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXH26-48e42f232dd2ca; Thu, 04 Aug 2005 11:23:09 -0400
Received: (qmail 11057 invoked by uid 60001); 4 Aug 2005 15:23:08 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=Message-ID:Receivedate:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding;
b=QIOvW1i4AthUXuE+hhFwmbXq0x2+C2ggP6J9nnvnVQA3cUhG elQ+7xF3DIygqESYkhKxixeKIBT/7QNf3mFTK3vEWXbFYd/ffYX1qO+Z3uQtm+wGeeAY9Ke06yOVZLZBHvuMywWRUqMseR76h bQZurW0c3sLq+4bo75/bBDpg4M= ;
Message-ID: <20050804152308.11055.qmail@web33911.mail.mud.yaho o.com>
Received: from [82.206.128.186] by web33911.mail.mud.yahoo.com via HTTP; Thu, 04 Aug 2005 08:23:08 PDT
Date: Thu, 4 Aug 2005 08:23:08 -0700 (PDT)
From: udoka akunauba <udokagi@yahoo.com>
Subject: waiting
To:
In-Reply-To: <1e.4a6cb4ac.301eaebc@aol.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-284930629-1123168988=:9144"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-AOL-IP: 66.163.178.75
X-AOL-SCOLL-SCORE: 1:2:509656316:15032385
X-AOL-SCOLL-URL_COUNT: 7


Last edited by Katiebeth103 : August 7th, 2005 at 08:02 AM. Reason: typo
Katiebeth103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2005, 05:51 PM     #2 (permalink)
Super Stealthy Moderator
 
RicheemxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Outside the box
Posts: 4,554
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to RicheemxX
Sounds like they are trying to lure you into some sort of scam, more than likely they'll end up asking you to set them up with cash or some sort of account!! There really isn't much you can do as far as reporting them to anyone as they haven't asked you for any money or anything along those lines.

here's a link with some info http://www.internet-fraud.com/cgi-bi...um=DCForumID21

RicheemxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2005, 02:23 PM     #3 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
jrsweger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,627
Do yourself a favor and remove your email address from your post! Through AOL can't you block certain email addresses or identify them as spam then you don't have to see them. After a while maybe they'll let you alone.
__________________
If you don't volunteer don't bitch!

jrsweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 01:36 AM     #4 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
elroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,743
This is a scam in the making. You can play along and see where it goes but I already know where it will end. They have mentioned the carrot [the commision] if you are greedy enough to let your greed over rule your common sense you will expose yourself to financial loss in pursuit of the carrot. They may ask you to put up some money or they may want to send you a money order [fake] and get you to cash it etc. My wife and I have been selling on the internet for years now. Any inquiries from Africa or Mexico are immediately discarded. Even if they do follow through and pay most likely it is with a forged money order.
__________________
“Those who desire to give up freedom in order to gain security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”
Benjamin Franklin
elroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 08:01 AM     #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
I have told them a total of 3 times that I can't help them and I sent them links to real estate sites and told them they could find links to realtors from these sites.
When the guy mentioned that he wanted a home worth 1 million in US dollars, I knew something was up then and that I definalty would not help them any further.
The curiosity on my end is wondering why they keep emailing me and what else they would offer. I am not falling for any of this.
Just curious and I am now amused by this.

Sally
Katiebeth103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 09:33 AM     #6 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via MSN to simbob
lolololol ignore them or sign them up to adult illicit sites, thats IMO
simbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 10:06 AM     #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Oh My Gosh! You are so funny! And, you reminded me of a prank I played on a friend in High School.
I worked at a convenience store and I took a subscription card from a play girl, had it sent to a friend and marked the "bill me" box.
LOLOLOLOLOLOL
Thanks for the laugh!
sally
Katiebeth103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 10:08 AM     #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 103
If you weren't an AOL subscriber, I'd say just block the sender. In IE on the main toolbar (the one starting with "file") click "message", there is a button that says "Block Sender." Maybe AOL has something similar.
pariscope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 10:23 AM     #9 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via MSN to simbob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katiebeth103
Oh My Gosh! You are so funny! And, you reminded me of a prank I played on a friend in High School.
I worked at a convenience store and I took a subscription card from a play girl, had it sent to a friend and marked the "bill me" box.
LOLOLOLOLOLOL
Thanks for the laugh!
sally


lololol anyways, you should take the scam upthe point of they wanting some bank info or whatever, play them at there own game
simbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 11:57 AM     #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
I read an article at one point (I can't find it now) about a guy who was getting lured into a scam like this and knew it, so he pretended like he was interested and eventually talked them into sending him $100 dollars for shipping costs or something like that The scammers get scammed... It was rather funny...
dpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi I am new to the forum Billm161 IMO Community 15 February 6th, 2004 10:08 AM
New forum ScottW Hot Deals - Found by You 1 October 28th, 2003 11:57 PM
About my Forum Creatures IMO Community 15 April 14th, 2003 04:56 PM

Most Active Discussions
Is It Just Me? (2998)
"mastermind" of London at.. (65)
Intel Pentium 4 531 (7)
Please don't divorce us (40)
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition (11)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Replacing integrated video card (5)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
building a gaming computer, input p.. (14)
Recent Discussions
I cant sign into msn messenger,.. (8)
nVidia GTX 295 now available (21)
Folderchat Weekday thread (458)
Could I run this set-up (15)
Bought the Visiontek Radeon 387.. (1)
CPU Overheating ?? (18)
Computer will not boot(powers o.. (2)
*TechIMO's Top 30 PCs* (44)
New psu question (1)
Blackberry Storm, Gears of War .. (2)
Core 2 Quad Q9550 system (3)
COWBOOM Ripoff! Used Laptop w/$.. (4)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.
TechIMO Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28