-
April 19th, 2011, 08:14 AM #1
Facebook "stalker apps", DONT DO IT!
Im sure a lot of users on here have facebook profiles so I just wanted to post this link:
Those Facebook "stalker apps"? They don't work, so avoid them
Please pass this on to your family members who aren't computer savvy. I would be wary of annnnny application on facebook.
Also those "shocking videos" are not legit so stop it!
Rogue Facebook App on the Loose [WARNING]
-
April 19th, 2011, 04:07 PM #2
Shared the 1st article on FB. Thanks for the heads up, at least for those I shared it with.
was just this morning one of the guys I knew from highschool sent a request from an app to do just that, see who is "stalking" your profile.
Pathetically these days, any sort of viewing or looking over the various pics & content people post on there, that have intentionally enabled so friends can see them, or even perfect strangers can...
Consider it Stalking, when its really nothing even related to true stalking.
Its like purposely leaving your Front Windows and Shades/Drapes open in your house all day long so that people walking by can hear and see EVERYTHING that is going on in the house...
Then turn around and accuse them of stalking.
Thats what I find some lame and yet amusing when it comes to this Stalking stuff on Facebook and other online Networking sites.
Anyways, I've tried to get the word out from time to time about these various apps or whatever about Join this group or that group or install this app to see who's been viewing your page.
Have told people it doesn't work, unless other people on your friend list join the group too, so your all on the same little "network", and in many cases the people that created the group or app, now have full access to view content on your pages, including phone numbers, Email address's, full name, etc, if its displayed on your account/page.
But unfortunately there's always one or two, that don't get the message and fall for this almost every month on my list of people I know.
i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
-
May 3rd, 2011, 07:12 PM #3
Bump
New kid on the block is the Osama death video
Bin Laden death is magnet for scammers on Facebook, Google | Technology | Los Angeles Times
-
May 3rd, 2011, 07:14 PM #4
Also two more:
See What You’ll Look in Future – Facebook Scam!
Father catches daughter on her webcam? It’s a Facebook survey scam | Naked Security
I had the daughter one pop up on a couple of friends in the last two days.
-
May 3rd, 2011, 11:52 PM #5
had the Osama one pop up today, reported it as spam, and then forwarded/posted on an Article from Sophos/Naked Security about the Facebook scam to all my FB list so hopefully they'll wise up and not fall for those scams.
Naked Security | News. Opinion. Advice. Research
specifically this article is what I shared: Osama Shoot down video scam spreads on Facebook | Naked Securityi7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
-
May 4th, 2011, 04:02 AM #6

An image of all of it
http://i.imgur.com/6jvZf.png
What is amazing is you have to copy/paste the script into the address bar and people will do it.
-
May 4th, 2011, 04:09 AM #7
I stickied this thread for the time being
-
May 4th, 2011, 09:47 AM #8
[WARNING] Friend Buzz Photos - Click here to see your top friends
Top friends, another scam
-
May 4th, 2011, 12:04 PM #9
LOL, I know of at least 3 or 4 people on my friend list that have that friend buzz one.
I think my Sister in law may have that as well.
Will have to post that one too.i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
-
May 4th, 2011, 12:08 PM #10
Im on a mission to get the word out
-
May 4th, 2011, 05:39 PM #11
Saw another one today called "See how your Baby will look"
'See How Your Baby Will Look Like' Scam Circulating on Facebook - Softpedia
-
May 4th, 2011, 09:36 PM #12
-
January 23rd, 2012, 11:23 AM #13
-
April 2nd, 2012, 06:34 PM #14
New scam out there:
Here is what the description says: "During the summer holidays, this girl took the opportunity to do something unheard of! I bet no one can do the same."Look what this girl is wearing at the beach in front of thousands of people!" followed by a fraudulent link.
-
April 2nd, 2012, 06:39 PM #15
I never get these types of Facebook scams. Maybe I need more than 14 friends.
-
April 2nd, 2012, 06:43 PM #16
or you need some dumb friends... lord knows I have more than a few.
i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
-
April 2nd, 2012, 06:47 PM #17
I hear ya. I have one friend that posts sex book links.
-
April 2nd, 2012, 07:00 PM #18
on a related note...
thats alright, I've found a new use for Pinterest, I thought it was mainly an artsy crafts like site for women to share recipe's and craft stuff, and other female hobby type pics and what not...
one friend, who I worked with for a couple years, older guy, went to art school, and what not, former rock band musician and artist... likes to look up the "Female Form" on Pinterest... apparently there are tons of stuff posted on there that you would never find on Facebook... Think Playboy vs Penthouse, the stuff on Pinterest is more the former style than latter.
So when I first saw that I was like, Oh crap, here we go again..., then to my surprise, found out it wasn't some scam and this is actual stuff posted on that site...
oddly most of the pictures are shared on Pinterest through Tumblr... so has me thinking I need to open a Tumblr account to post some of the funny pics I have that would get me in trouble with Photobucket.i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
-
April 2nd, 2012, 07:20 PM #19Ultimate Member
- Join Date
- Feb 2008
- Posts
- 1,671
I think FB is quite stupid to be honest!
-
April 2nd, 2012, 07:21 PM #20
Dude, SHUT UP!!!
i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green
TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Similar Threads
-
Workplace "Facebook" question.
By no1_vern in forum DebateIMO: Politics, Religion, ControversyReplies: 6Last Post: July 27th, 2010, 10:53 AM -
Multiple "bootable" apps on one usb drive?
By S3NTYN3L in forum General Tech DiscussionReplies: 1Last Post: November 17th, 2008, 07:12 AM -
Dont call him "ManBearPig" ! He is "Sheep Pig"
By no1_vern in forum IMO CommunityReplies: 1Last Post: December 28th, 2007, 11:21 AM -
"Hot" signal too much for WavePad , etc. type apps..
By mrlewp in forum Multimedia and AudioReplies: 4Last Post: March 14th, 2005, 06:41 PM



LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks



Reply With Quote




Is it snowing up there?
Is It Just Me? v233893843