+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    228

    Cant access Dlink router admin page

    Hey all, i picked up an old router off a buddy of mine, a d-link DI-704... but i can't get to the admin page at 192.168.0.1 , i disable the software firewall when i try to access it.

    I have a router setup at home, so i know how to configure everything, but no matter what i do i cant access the routers admin page. also, i cant get net access through the router, even tho windows says my connection is fine.

    so is it just dead? is there anyway for me to upgrade the firmware despite not being able to access the admin page? i mean i wont be heartbroken if its junk, but i would be handy to have a spare router. thanks-

  2. #2
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,958
    Blog Entries
    63
    there should be a button on the router to reset it. have you tried that?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    228
    sure have

  4. #4
    MDS
    MDS is offline
    Never forget MDS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N-the-center-Kansas
    Posts
    3,224
    to reset that dlink you will have to power it down hold the reset in power it up holding the reset in for 5sec. m1 and m2 leds will flash 8 times if it is done correctly.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    228
    guess i should reword it.... ive tried all the logical and obvious steps

  6. #6
    Tech IMO Bug Finder pickel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Jackson,MS
    Posts
    13,518

    Question

    Have you tried to hook up the router to another computer ?? Dsl or cable ?? Can you access the internet thru just the modem ???
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOtab0BKOGY
    The Nation which forgets it's defenders will itself be forgotten
    You cannot make peace with dictators. You have to destroy them–wipe them out!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    228
    tried it on 3 different computers, cable, and the modems work just fine...

    even tried different network cables to rule that out

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting to my Access Point
    By holdenskickfords in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 30th, 2004, 08:35 AM
  2. wireless setup question using a wired router with a print server
    By Omardeth in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 1st, 2004, 12:04 AM
  3. new to netowrking
    By brianl0202 in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 7th, 2003, 04:54 PM
  4. Very basic wireless router question
    By John Prophet in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 21st, 2003, 09:24 AM
  5. So many routers to choose from...which one is for me!?!?
    By Gouki in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 9th, 2002, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc