+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 297
  1. #101
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    881
    Quote Originally Posted by JPMiller
    There are VERY few certified SLI PSU's at this point...
    You definitely want dual +12V and 400W or better...

    I presume this is an answer to my question about the pci express power requirements??

    if so, I'd really rather be more specific. I don't need SLI, but when we're calculating what's needed for our PSU, we need to know what components draw how much amperage from what rail. I was hoping someone could answer this for me regarding the typical pci-e device

    -Z

  2. #102
    Ultimate Member Xtreeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    PA. USA
    Posts
    3,310
    Well even single pci-e video uses tons mor ethen any normal pci-e card. Each card will draw what it needs, like agp or pci. After the max of what it can deliver it uses a direct connect to the psu molex. So go by your cards power useage not the bus itself.
    R.I.P. TKOP
    You will always be in our hearts and thoughts. God bless.

  3. #103
    I was thinking about getting either
    Antec TruePower 2.0 TP2-550 EPS12V ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL - Retail
    or
    Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL - Retail

    Which should I get? both are relatively the same but there are its differences. I just dont know which one to get.

  4. #104
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    The only difference I can see is the fan configuration, my preference is the one 120mm fan, less noise and better cooling from what I can see...

  5. #105
    Well someone told me other differences besides the fans. That the 1st link is passive cooling, while the 2nd is active cooling.

  6. #106
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,364
    Blog Entries
    4
    I heard a lot of pretty good reviews about the TT 420 silent pure power... does it really live up to the hype? because im considering picking one up to replace my now dying 420watt raidmaxx
    Last edited by SoloCamo; July 16th, 2005 at 06:41 PM.
    4K PC: Intel i7 4790k @ 4.7ghz / 16gb DDR3 2400 / Sapphire R9 290X / Win10 Pro
    HTPC: Intel Pentium G3258 @ 4.2ghz / 8gb DDR3 1333 / Evga 750ti / Win8.1 Home
    Laptop: Lenovo G50-45 / AMD A8-6410 / 8gb DDR3 1866 / Win10 Home

  7. #107
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    Quote Originally Posted by SoloCamo
    I heard a lot of pretty good reviews about the TT 420 silent pure power... does it really live up to the hype? because im considering picking one up to replace my now dying 420watt raidmaxx
    yes.... as far as Im concerned it is the best bang for buck at this time...

    --------------------------
    Quote Originally Posted by LD50
    Well someone told me other differences besides the fans. That the 1st link is passive cooling, while the 2nd is active cooling.
    Passive cooling involves HUGE heatsinks that extend out the back of the case and have NO fans... the specs are identical and both have ACTIVE cooling, the only difference is the fan configuration... period...
    they probably roll off the exact same assembly line and simply get different housings...

  8. #108
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,364
    Blog Entries
    4
    I know aspire's aren't exactly the greatest psu's out there, but my brother has one powering his rig (fx-53, x800pro, 2x 1024 ram, 2opticals, 1hdd, 4 fans, floppy)

    It's the aspire 500watt http://www.xoxide.com/noname24.html

    I heard it was one of the "better" aspires out there,
    now what i am most likely going to do is by my bro that TT 420w and replace his aspire with it.

    Then take his aspire and put it in my rig which is running less, and weaker components.

    The aspire is huge, so it is blocking a blowhole in his case, therefore not allowing him to place a fan in there.

    can that particular aspire be trusted enough to run a system with less demanding components?

    I'm assuming the TT is a superior psu, but do you think it is worth the hassle of swapping out his psu for the TT? or do you think the aspire will do fine for it?
    4K PC: Intel i7 4790k @ 4.7ghz / 16gb DDR3 2400 / Sapphire R9 290X / Win10 Pro
    HTPC: Intel Pentium G3258 @ 4.2ghz / 8gb DDR3 1333 / Evga 750ti / Win8.1 Home
    Laptop: Lenovo G50-45 / AMD A8-6410 / 8gb DDR3 1866 / Win10 Home

  9. #109
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    I would do the swap...
    The less draw you have on that Aspire, the less chance of it blowing, the longer it will last and the cleaner the power youll get...
    I wouldnt tell someor to buy one, but if its in use and your not having problems with it, putting it in an underpowered tower will at least make the scenario better

  10. #110
    I got this #43 fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,562
    Even the worst PSU today can run a very low end system with no problems.
    In other words, a Pentium 3.

  11. #111
    Ultimate Member njolakoski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    On my GSXR 1000
    Posts
    3,373
    Ok Well, i got this free A-Power 500W PSU ATX, its +12V is 17A, would that be better then My Raidmax 420W?

  12. #112
    Senior Member andy1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    984
    found this link if its any use

    http://www.amdboard.com/psu.html

  13. #113
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,220
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hey, I found an awsome power suppy roundup!

    http://www.hexus.net/content/reviews...lld19JRD0xMzU5

    Edit your first post, and put it in there!
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  14. #114
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    Quote Originally Posted by LD50
    If I get a duel 12V do I need to connect both of them? cause according to my mobo I can only connect 1 12V. If I only connect 1 of the 12V does it mean I only get half of the Ams? or what? Im not really familar with duel 12V PSU's so I would not really know. If someone could please explain it to me.

    And No ... Doesn't work that way
    With a normal ATX PSU, you have one +12V "rail" split between the motherboard and drives, etc.
    With a dual +12V PSU, you have one separate +12V rail for the motherboard and then everything else is supplied by the second "rail"
    That way the motherboard is unaffected by power surges and dips caused by drives spinning up etc.
    Last edited by JPMiller; September 24th, 2005 at 07:18 PM.

  15. #115
    Ultimate Member Blitzkreig75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,225
    My Antec TruePower Rocks!
    Check out my music:
    http://www.bandmix.com/blitzkreig75/
    System error 99909: Bang head on keyboard to continue

  16. #116
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    ...
    Yes, Im sure it does..........

  17. #117
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,364
    Blog Entries
    4
    I really, really wish people would refer to this thread more often. Especially, as of late many people have been asking about psu's and this thread is never mentioned (partially my fault aswell) We need like a huge sign on the homepage to tell people about it
    4K PC: Intel i7 4790k @ 4.7ghz / 16gb DDR3 2400 / Sapphire R9 290X / Win10 Pro
    HTPC: Intel Pentium G3258 @ 4.2ghz / 8gb DDR3 1333 / Evga 750ti / Win8.1 Home
    Laptop: Lenovo G50-45 / AMD A8-6410 / 8gb DDR3 1866 / Win10 Home

  18. #118

    I need a new power supply

    My Dell Dimension 2350 needs a new power supply. It had an HP-P2037F3 200W.
    The computer is af ew years old...a year or two from the landfill...looking to go fairly cheap. Can I buy any 200W power supply to replace it? What should I look for?

    Thanks

  19. #119
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,220
    Blog Entries
    1
    You can buy a really cheap psu, but I wouldn't reccommend it...
    I would get this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953

    JP has one that he reccommends that is like $30 or so...but I can't remember which one it is...

    Hmm...I think it was this one...but I don't remember...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171004
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  20. #120
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104951
    THIS is the best deal at present...

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Power Supply issues
    By BadboyAl in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2010, 02:47 AM
  2. power supply
    By indi in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: April 1st, 2009, 02:19 PM
  3. "System failed CPU test"?/CPU multiplier
    By TuEKiD in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 5th, 2006, 11:13 PM
  4. asus A7N8x system crashing
    By stamenkd in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: July 13th, 2003, 09:02 PM
  5. Help build an AMD for under $500
    By Mr. NoOne in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: May 25th, 2003, 03:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc