+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 297
  1. #141
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,496
    Yes, you use a standard molex power connecter that you would plug into a harddrive to power the 9800. Also 18A on +12v should be fine for that card. The square 4pin is the Intel +12v power that would be plugged into the mobo. I don't think your generation AMD mobo uses it, but I'm pretty sure the newer AMD's do.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  2. #142
    Senior Member dlh75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Woodlands,TX
    Posts
    872
    I just looked at my motherboard manual (AbitNF7-S mobo) and mine has this 4pin +12V connector on the board. One says ATXPWR1 and the other says ATX12V1.
    All it says is "This mobo provides 2 power connectors to connect to an ATX12V power supply"
    Then it has a note saying"It is recommended to connect to a power supply w/ 350W,20A +5VDC capacity at least for heavily loaded systems and 2A +5VSB capacity at least for supporting wake-up features"
    Do I hook up both? Been running with only the ATXPWR1 plugged in.

  3. #143
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,496
    I don't think you need the ATX12V1 connected, but hopefully an AMD owner can confirm that.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  4. #144
    Senior Member dlh75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Woodlands,TX
    Posts
    872
    I'm not sure either. But why would they put that on there if it's not needed? So I'm thinking it is needed since they did put it on there. Can someone please confirm this.
    Thanks.

  5. #145
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,496
    I checked at the Abit Support forum. It seems to be optional whether it is connected or not. Connecting it is supposed to add stability, but if you've been stable then I see no real need to connect it. How long have you been running the board without it?


    Oh, here's the link...
    http://forum.abit-usa.com/showthread...ht=ATX12V1+NF7
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  6. #146
    18 amps should be just fine. The other 4 pin connectoer you mentioned is it the square pci plug? Also what kind of problems are ya having? Heres a few known issues. https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...asp?deptID=894

  7. #147
    Ultimate Member kenboyles72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Gladewater, TX
    Posts
    1,188
    i bought a case that came with a Codegen 350w psu. its seems to be pretty reliable, all rails seem to stay pretty much the same, only small fluctuations, all staying within tolerence.

  8. #148
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    I have a codegen 400watt PSU....have had two fans fail in them.....JUNK PSU's

  9. #149
    I'm buying my power supply from PCClub.com but all the power supply brands they have I don't see on the good bad list. Can someone help with that? I don't know what to look for in a power supply.

  10. #150
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,220
    Blog Entries
    1
    They have Enermax, OCZ, and Thermaltake...which are all good brands...
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  11. #151
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    Codegen PSU are bad...Light, flimsy and just plain Generic
    Last edited by Coolzer; February 4th, 2006 at 07:52 PM.

  12. #152
    True EXreaction, but their all like $100. I see all these good PSUs at 49.99, where can I buy these that isn't online? Ahhh.

  13. #153
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,220
    Blog Entries
    1
    All computer parts bought offline are extremely expensive...why don't you just buy one from www.zipzoomfly.com or www.newegg.com
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  14. #154
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    Yeah if Newegg was in AUS, I'd use it....

  15. #155
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    This is a good PAU watt calculator:
    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

  16. #156
    I got this #43 fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,562
    Doesn't Cooler Master use their PSU's in their cases? If so, then that would make another good case/PSU combo.

  17. #157
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    Yeah they do...Coolermaster cases are good

  18. #158
    分かりますか。 carl33p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    7,183
    Blog Entries
    9
    You wanted reviews of other brands such as Rosewill, so i will deliver.

    Rosewill RP500-2 500W Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182016

    Havent had any problems. Nice packaging, has worked for last 3 months. Lots of nice reviews for most all rosewill PSU's. No reason to not think there a good company...yet...lol

    Got it with a 15$ MIR, so quite good price/performance with 120mm fan and blue led.

  19. #159
    Training for Bankai JPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    7,657
    Unfortunately, Rosewill is just Newegg's rebadge brand, from model to model you dont know who the maker truly is...
    You may have gotten a rebadged Fortron, and the next guy could get a rebadged Deer...
    unless you can tell from the sticker who the true manufacturer is, you cant really say if "Rosewill's" are good or not...

    not to detract from your review...
    But to technically make it a review...
    you would nbeed to give a little more insight...
    weight?
    decibal level?
    stability of the rails under load?
    maybe a reading from an OHM meter..
    Last edited by JPMiller; May 8th, 2006 at 12:02 AM.

  20. #160
    Prof. of DooGlian Studies MegalosSkylaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Nr. GroundZero NYC
    Posts
    10,420
    It's nice seeing people discussing power supplies.
    I remember several years ago, people kept on asking about WATTAGE and didn't seam to believe me or a few other lonely souls that a very good PSU can outperform a poor or mediocre one with higher Wattage.

    While I can't proove this, I suspect that some of the problems people complain about on various forums might be fixed or at least improved by getting a better PSU.

    What amazed me --and still does --is the monwey people are willing to plunk down on GFX cards, yet seem to want to spare the last dollar when buying a PSU.

    A 450 Watt top grade PSU --I would guess --would handle the needs of 95 - 98% of desktop computers, except those with highly specialized functions.

    Is $100 too much to pay for an "insurance policy" ?

    DOOG
    FIRST TEN YEARS ANNIVERSARY HONOR ROLL
    this April 18th, 2014 and will be Officially Celebrated That Day! SEE http://www.techimo.com/forum/imo-com...ml#post1070600

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Power Supply issues
    By BadboyAl in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2010, 02:47 AM
  2. power supply
    By indi in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: April 1st, 2009, 02:19 PM
  3. "System failed CPU test"?/CPU multiplier
    By TuEKiD in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 5th, 2006, 11:13 PM
  4. asus A7N8x system crashing
    By stamenkd in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: July 13th, 2003, 09:02 PM
  5. Help build an AMD for under $500
    By Mr. NoOne in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: May 25th, 2003, 03:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc