+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    668

    Xp Boot up Looping?

    XP Boot LOOPING
    XP won't start just keeps rebooting
    It's not seeing a hard drive on boot up
    You see the XP boot screen but , goes to boot option window.
    Wont start on last known,safe mode, or normal

    Boot says
    0 Master none
    1 Master none

    Is this HDD failure or corrupted boot sequence?

  2. #2
    aje
    aje is offline
    Member aje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    269
    If BIOS told me that it wasn't finding a master (which is what I'm interpreting from your post. If I'm misinterpreting please just disregard me) I'd check and make sure my IDE cables were connected with the jumpers set correctly. Then I'd try again with a different IDE cable to see if that was the problem.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member jrsweger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,644
    If you are seeing the XP logo, you must be getting something from the harddrive. If this worked before, I would guess that there is a harddrive problem. If a new build, check the jumpers, cables, etc. Maybe try booting to safe mode - press F8 - after the bios screen.

  4. #4
    Senior Member sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    668
    been working fine for several months
    till now

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member Big_Daddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA USA
    Posts
    1,261
    Try booting with the CD or a Linux CD (Knoppix or Mandrake Move). See if the drive can be seen.

    Can you see your CD drives? If not, your IDE controller may be gone.

  6. #6
    Senior Member sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    668
    when i run chkdsk

    it reports

    the volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems

  7. #7
    Super F@D Folder
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,093
    if u'r running chkdsk then it's finding u'r hard drive. get powermax from www.maxtor.com and use the tools to check your harddrive....use the full test.....see if that'll work.....are both the harddrives on the same cable...if they both fail the test...then switch to the other connector on the mobo and try again...see if that helps! make sure you don't low level format with powermax but u can't do it by accident..it says low level format and it makes u confirm twice...so make sure you don't do any formatting...just check the drives. go here and search for powermax....it fits on a floppy and then u boot from the floppy. when you download powermax it's an executable file...u can't just copy that to the floppy...u have to run the program and it'll make the floppy for u.

  8. #8
    Senior Member sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    668
    OK the solution i found at another forum.
    But I wanted to thank everyone here for helping me.
    As I understand now!
    IBM HDD are prone to just stop spinning.

    I removed it give it a rap on the top and WA LA!
    it boots normal

    Thanks again ALL.

    sev

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    would this method work on other hdds that arent IBM?

  10. #10
    Senior Member sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    668
    I had to replace the HDD as it continued to freeze up or seize.
    But I was sucessful in getting it started and backing up the data.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PC won't boot up to windows
    By clay@nsmb.com in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 12th, 2004, 01:31 PM
  2. I'm in Linux...Few Q's...
    By Emc2 in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: February 28th, 2003, 03:02 PM
  3. C++ Question on exiting program from loop
    By crouse in forum Webmastering and Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 11th, 2003, 09:36 PM
  4. FlashMX looping question
    By HfdWolfPack in forum Graphic Design and Digital Photography
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 9th, 2003, 06:30 PM
  5. Replies: 21
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2002, 08:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc