+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479

    DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.

    Could this be why it's not detecting a phone line connected to it? Modem has worked fine for months and all of a sudden, I get "Phone line is either disconnected or the phone is being used." when I was trying to send a fax from WinXP Pro, neither of which is the case. The title of the thread is what I see in the modem log.
    Last edited by TOAD6147; April 2nd, 2005 at 09:45 AM.
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    ^^bump^^
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    See if you can dial out through Windows Hyperterminal. You may have gotten a surge through your modem. Also check modem properties in Device Manager.
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    Same thing with hyperterminal. The modem must be toast. Thanks for the help.
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    I removed that internal modem and am now using a Zoom 56k external dual mode. WinXP ID'd it and installed it as a Zoom 56K Data Fax Dual mode Modem PnP. I found Win2k drivers and tried to update it to something better and it installed as a Zoom External 56K LT Voice Faxmodem. Either one seems to work fine however when it dials it sounds like a rotary phone. I contacted Zoom tech support and this is what they had to say:
    There is no Windows XP driver for this modem. This modem should work with native drivers in the Windows XP operating system. Check the initialization string in your dialing program and make sure that it starts ATDT.
    I'm using the fax feature within WinXP so where would I look for the initialization string for this program?
    Thanks for the help
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    Initialization strings (or init strings) are special instructions for the modem. They don't change the modem, but they do give the modem extra commands to perform like "wait for dial tone" "turn off speaker" or "disable v90." If you enter an incorrect string for your modem chipset, it may stop functioning because init strings are fairly specific for each modem chipset.

    To check for an initialization string:

    Windows XP & 2000

    Open the Control Panel and double click the Modems icon.
    Highlight your modem and click the Properties button.
    Click the Advanced button.
    If there is an init string listed, write it down (in case you need it later)
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    Oh yeah, is this a usb or serial modem?
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    Thanks for the response, PoonDoggy. It is a serial modem and there are no entries in the Advanced Settings/Extra Init. Settings box. I had always entered S11=50 in this feild to make it speed dial but that made no difference in this case. It still sounds like an old rotary phone.
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    Can you post a modem log? Maybe we can isolate the problem.
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    It's a bit lenghty. How could we do that?
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    YGPM, email it to me...or you could cut & paste here.
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    PoonDoggy,
    It's on the way via e-mail. Thanks for the help.
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1
    hi there ... i have the same problem too :

    DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on

    my modem is a ELSA MicroLink 56K Fun USB

    i have the latest drivers for xp.

    my prezent configuration is:

    p4--3GHz prescott HT 1MB L2
    MB ABIT AI7
    1024ddr-400 (dual 2*256)
    120GB sata-maxtor
    fx5200 inno 128b/128MB
    cd writer TEAC
    dvd LG

    so ...
    the modem workt on the same mb but with a celeron 2.4 (fsb 400) , a celeron D prescott (fsb 533)

    an on others computers with the same winxp pro sp2 + all updates.(amd & intel)

    Is this a problem because of the HT on P4?
    Do i need more power for my computer now i have a 400W power source.

    i tried next options ON&off:

    HT , usb2.0 support , changing modem com3 to others , changing fsb auto/manual .

    I have dial tone in the modem ... i hear the modem making the connection ... but after that there is silence for about 3..5 sec and then the bussy tone (de de de ...)

    I wrealy need an advice for my problem please !!!

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member TOAD6147's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,479
    Try a different modem as I'm sure yours is toast.
    Last edited by TOAD6147; May 15th, 2005 at 02:26 AM.
    "Education: That which discloses to the wise and disguises from the
    foolish their lack of understanding."
    Ambrose Bierce

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member PoonDoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas,
    Posts
    2,466
    "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease." Marianne Moore, American poet (1887-1972)

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    DSR is low...

    I kept getting the same message and had great difficulty logging on. However, I checked the USR website (I have a US Robotics USB modem) and found that there is a problem with some USB connections. Evidently they don't allocate enough power for the modem. They advised updating drivers or trying a USB Hub that is NOT powered by the computer (in other words, it has it's own AC adapter). I tried the drivers but had the same problem. I am now using a USB Hub and, so far, I have logged on with no difficulty AND increased speed. If I experience another problem I will post another message but so far so good...

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WinMe - 56K AC-Link Modem - Dial-Up-Networking
    By kaziah in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 16th, 2003, 09:45 AM
  2. Help with USB modem
    By davidc in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 10th, 2002, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc