+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19

    my monitor looks like i am in safe mode

    Hi guys i am on windows 98
    BUT i have some issue with my monitor display
    I installed a graphics accelerator card
    i look like i am in safe mode icons are big and ugly and i cant rewad this message cause the background isnt one solid color hard to explain i know looks like safe mode can you HELPPPP

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    it was like this before the card i bought it to resolve this issue

  3. #3
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,986
    Blog Entries
    64
    did you remove the old video drivers and install the newest drivers for the new card you installed?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    i beleive so i uninstalled the sis 530 display and the standard graphics PCI adaptor which accordin to the device manager is back

    did i need to undo anything in sound, videao and game controllers port ????

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,774
    If the standard graphics PCI adaptor is in the device manager you either don't have the correct drivers properly installed or you're still connected to the onboard video port.
    “Those who desire to give up freedom in order to gain security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”
    Benjamin Franklin

  6. #6
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Try this before you install the new drivers.
    http://www.driverheaven.net/cleaner/

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    Welcome to TechIMO!

    You do know how to change the resolution right, or did you try that?
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    i am not sure can you tell me i will see if i did it
    I now have PCI unistalled what next

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    Right click on the desktop, and click properties. Then go to settings, and then change the resolution. If you set the resolution to high, your screen might go black, and say it is out of range, but windows will automatically change back if you don't click ok on the popup. So, if you do set it to high, just let it sit for a few seconds, and it will change back.
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    it wont change it wont allow me to move slider say 96DPI
    i installed driver for new video card BUT when i reboot it trys to install the old PCI i driver and i cant find the diamond stealch card any where in my device manager

    i am so baffled lol

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    please helppppppppppppppp

  12. #12
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy
    If the standard graphics PCI adaptor is in the device manager you either don't have the correct drivers properly installed or you're still connected to the onboard video port.
    Do you have onboard video, and if you do did you disable it?

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    Hello again i havew compiled as much info as possible
    My monitor is on 96DPI and i cant changhe it ( slider will not move)

    I installed a new video card ( THER PLUG IN CARD IS FEEDING MONITOR THE ORGINAL PLUG IN COMPUTER WILL NOT WORK MONITOR)

    I went into install new video card(A STEALTH BY DIAMOND INDUSTIRES) and it is not even show OR detect the new chip
    always tryis to install the vga driver when i put chip in it didnt even detect it as new hardware

    I went into the install hardware option and it did Not even detect the card
    It isnt in the list of hardware either ( REFERRING TO THE NEW CARD I CANNOT FIND IT IN ANY OF THE DEVICE MANAGERS OR PROGRAM LISTS ).
    i INSTALLED THAT DRIVER AS INSTRUCTED
    I uninstalled the original driver before installing new driver

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    The way it sounds, you did not disable the onboard throught the bios, correct?
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member rabidaardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    right here
    Posts
    2,443
    96dpi is not the resolution you should be looking at. That is just to up the resolution for people with poor vision and should stay set at 96DPI. The one you want is screen resolution. It should currently say 640 x 480 or 800 x 600 from what you're describing(I just looked again and you're on 98 so it should be at 640 x 480).

    Right Click on the desktop
    properties
    settings

    then try to set the color to 16 bit or better and the resolution to 800 x 600 or better
    size=1 rocks

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Safe mode
    By darlordofkri in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 10th, 2004, 01:49 PM
  2. safe mode no go
    By presence06 in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 21st, 2004, 07:00 PM
  3. CD/DVD drives recognized in safe mode, but not regular mode
    By Headstrong in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 21st, 2003, 06:04 PM
  4. safe mode
    By brianl0202 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2003, 05:28 PM
  5. Old Goldstar Monitor only works in safe mode
    By grawss in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 21st, 2003, 08:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc