+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Computer starts but nothing happens

hi, my neighbor is asking me if i could fix his computer. this is a great task for me because im majoring in the computers and its a good way to get some pc support skils in handy. so they told me that their computer is powered and turns on......but nothing appears in the monitor. just a blank screen. they told me it just "humms". so what should i consider first? operating system? display problems? its also a pretty old computer. what should i do first?
    Last edited by joeschmo88; September 24th, 2006 at 02:33 PM.

Ultimate Member
    if i were you the first things i would do is:

try a different monitor just to make sure, this never works but its worth a try might be something really simple like a loose cable connecting the monitior.

are they usin a graphics card? if so switch to onboard video & see if that works. if theyre using onboard already try switching to a graphics card & see if that does anything.

that would be my first things to try.

Take the cover off before powering up. If there truly is nothing on the screen, which includes the BIOS screen, and it "humms", the number one cause is a weak power supply.

Notice if the cooling fans start up when you press the power button.

take it outside and blow the dust out of the case and PSU. Unplug, clean the contatcts, and reseat any memory or expansion cards.

Try a known good power supply if none of this works.

thank you...i'll try those first. i'll update you as soon as i get to test things out at their place.

Just to expand on what DallasDon said, the only real way to find out what is wrong with a computer is try the parts from the broken computer in another computer or trying known good parts in the broken computer. This is how a computer shop would do it. Manufacturers have test equipment, but it is just for their products and are not available to most people.