+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 34 of 34
  1. #21
    Member Lostamarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    183
    sorry i was not more help but if you come up with a fix please post.
    it's a problem i have not come across completely so im interested.
    Athlon64 4000+,Biostar NF4ST-A9,suntec 680W PS,atiradeon hd 2600 512mb PCIe ,2gig KingstonDDR400 PX800A DVDRW,silent939 k8 dual heatpipe heatsink

  2. #22
    Ultimate Member kenboyles72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Gladewater, TX
    Posts
    1,188
    Start of basic, remove/unplug everything except 1 vid card, cpu and 1 stick mem and see if you can get into bios. If you can then get into bios, one of your other hardware is faulty. If after removing other hardware and still cant get into bios, maybe mobo or psu is faulty. If you can get into bios after removing the hardare, start adding 1 piece at a time till you get the same malfunction, this will narrow down what is causing the fault.
    Last edited by kenboyles72; May 9th, 2007 at 12:37 AM.

  3. #23
    icer-zerocool Dj-Icer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Arakwaku, Tokyo!
    Posts
    3,203
    Could this be a power supply?

    How can a machine shuts off when you tried to log on and all. So my guess would be the power supply.

    If you have another power supply, try have it replace. See what happens. If everything else fails, wait for your mobo. Just a little help that I can do.
    If only the dead can speak, then we will know what's happening to us all next...

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    No problem this is the first time I've tried this, but I was at my wits end. Right now I'm "easter eggin" it! I'm a little upset with myself. I can usually figure a hardware problem out. Now software.......I'm lost from the git go! When I figure this out I'll definately let you know.

  5. #25
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada [Maritimes]
    Posts
    1,268
    "I know for me I MUST remove any ide drives if want to use my sata drives.
    Computer wil not respond if both installed. Or at least go to load xp."

    i usually just change the boot order in the BIOS to which drives i
    want to boot to

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    I tried both ways. Pulling the drive altogether and just changing the boot order.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    I think you are on the right track. This system is in an 18 wheeler. I'm starting to think that it's not in the system at all. It may be the inverter I'm running to supply power.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    I was thinking the mobo or the cpu. I'll know better tomorrow. I'll plug into a regular wall socket then.

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    75
    Transferring xp? you didnt just copy the files did you?

    Anyway, thats not a windows problem, its a hardware problem..

    Have you overclocked that CPU? Cus' it sounds like you system is overheating and then re-booting ( pc's do this is it gets to hot! well, most of the time..)

    Its H/W problem, for sure.
    Speaking of beards and drugs, this leads me neatly to the Taliban.

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    Seems to have been the power supply. But now I don't get a signal to the monitor. Would that be because I can't hook up the 12v aux power on the mo
    bo?

  11. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by quickoldcar View Post
    After reading you post quite a few times.

    I am getting the feeling you had an ide drive installed.
    Then added a sata drive and installed xp on the sata?
    So in reality you had 2 xp installs which is like a dual boot system.
    All worked fine until the reboot, then it seems the Master Boot Record would be incorrect (MBR) , this might need the MBR Fix.

    I could be wrong in everything I said above but don't really see the whole picture of what you did actually.

    I know for me I MUST remove any ide drives if want to use my sata drives.
    Computer wil not respond if both installed. Or at least go to load xp.

    I install xp with just the sata drive in, hit F6 at prompt to load my sata raid drivers,
    then install xp as normal.
    Then i must reboot and go back into xp.
    Turn off computer.
    Add my ide drives, then windows detects the drives and all is normal.

    If I do not do what I said above there is no possible way for me to get mine to work. I tried many different ways.

    Lets say you had xp installed on the ide drive, then you installed xp on the sata drive. Well many people (including myself) have gone to their ide drive and delete everything they think they can now delete.

    Little do they know there are files on there needed to make xp function on the next reboot.

    Maybe I helped maybe I did not.

    How about a little more info on how and what you exactly did.
    Ok, I have done this exactly. Is there any way to fix the MBR to look for the SATA drive? If I unplug all the IDE's will it work? I'm in unchartered territory here...

  12. #32
    Ultimate Member quickoldcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NE Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,005
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yes by using the fixmbr command.

    Here is how to do it directly from microsoft.

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true

    the commands are written in the next section below.

    "FIXMBR" is what you want.


    might even want to do a "chkdsk -r" first as well
    Last edited by quickoldcar; January 9th, 2008 at 12:35 AM.

  13. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by quickoldcar View Post
    Yes by using the fixmbr command.

    Here is how to do it directly from microsoft.

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true

    the commands are written in the next section below.

    "FIXMBR" is what you want.


    might even want to do a "chkdsk -r" first as well
    Ok, so I'm booting from my XP Pro disk, I will get to the recovery console and run the FIXMBR and see what happens. I have unplugged the power to my other 2 IDE drives. Sound good so far?

    I don't know much about the MBR but if it was using one on my previous IDE C drive until I deleted it, will there be an MBR on this SATA drive or does this command create one?

    The CHKDSK -r is doing something...says:

    CHKDSK is performing additional checking or recovery...

    Ok, it seems to be stuck at 54%.

    And what should I take away from these notes on the Microsoft site:

    •If you do not specify a device_name, a new master boot record will be written to the boot device, which is the drive on which your primary system is loaded.
    •If an invalid or nonstandard partition table signature is detected, you will be prompted whether you want to continue. If you are not having problems accessing your drives, you should not continue. Writing a new master boot record to your system partition could damage your partition tables and cause your partitions to become inaccessible.
    Last edited by CElloyd; January 9th, 2008 at 01:40 AM.

  14. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4
    I tried to boot after FIXMBR and got Invalid partition table message.

    Anymore ideas? I have information I'd rather not lose on this drive and the C drive for that matter. I may need to shop for a new drive to get a working Op System and then recover my data from there? I will be able to access this drive won't I??

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FIRE!
    By RedFury in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 11th, 2006, 08:21 AM
  2. 2k machine can't see drives in XP machine. Ok reverse way.
    By videobruce in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 30th, 2006, 08:33 PM
  3. Being set on fire probably didn't actually help, though
    By Theophylact in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: April 19th, 2005, 09:54 PM
  4. Im on FIRE!
    By DPA in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: October 7th, 2003, 10:09 PM
  5. fire door
    By SuperhumaNdhc in forum PC Modification
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 21st, 2003, 01:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc