+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    544

    Excessive downloads

    I have a hacker who downloads using my ip address I suppose, because I have bills from Videotron (cable) that are a lot more expensive than usual. I have a wireless router but I configured it to be secured. How can I change my IP addres, is it true that only the server (Videotron) can change it.

    I use Win XP Pro and my wireless router is a Linksys wrt 55AG.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    You need to call your ISP about this.

  3. #3
    Member soad1789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    150
    Your IP address may change whenever there is a disconnect or it expires I believe, at least that's how it works at my house with Comcast cable service-- but if you're suspecting an unauthorized person on your network, there are a few things you can do. First, I would assess the area you live in, is it urban, suburban, rural, etc.? Does a high volume of traffic pass near your house often? I've seen people pulling over in side streets to check email on unprotected networks. But you say you have security, so maybe someone living near you is hacking your network. What kind of security do you have set up? I would recommend at least WEP encryption, but WPA is much stronger. Another helpful security option available on most routers is MAC address filtering, which will only allow computers with a specific physical address to access your network. This, like any other security option, can be thwarted, but if you have encryption in place and switch keys every now and then on top of MAC address filtering you should be pretty secure (hackers will just realize its a pain in the ass to stay connected to your network haha). If you would like details on how to set up some more security, I'd be glad to try and help. And a call to your ISP would be wise to clear things up with them.
    AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.6
    ePoX EP-9NPA+Ultra
    2GB Patriot RAM @ 2-3-2-5 DC
    Sapphire X800GTO2 (Unlocked) @ core: 540 mem: 590
    Seagate 250GB SATA HD

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    544

    Excessive download

    Thanks Soad 1789, I believe that the problem was the router that was not secure enough. I made some modifications, and since then the downloads returned to normal.

    Thanks again

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Spybot Tea Timer Excessive CPU Usage?
    By xelnanga in forum Security and Privacy Issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 6th, 2011, 10:25 AM
  2. Excessive Force for Skateboarding Arrests?
    By RobRich in forum DebateIMO: Politics, Religion, Controversy
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: June 29th, 2007, 12:49 PM
  3. Excessive Beeping
    By user101az in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 24th, 2005, 06:23 PM
  4. V92 Modem - "Excessive Line Current"
    By ctaylor in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 24th, 2004, 03:40 PM
  5. excessive line current warning from modem?
    By stant093 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 20th, 2003, 07:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc