+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    www.RapVibez.com
    Posts
    79

    Exclamation How can I reset my HP Laptop back to factory? Like Brand New...?

    Hello. I got this HP lap top....and i was wondering if there is a restore to factory settings?
    for example: like Dell has. (while starting up hold ctrl and keep tapping f11)

    So please let me know if there is any way I can reset my hp laptop.....

    I have a HP Pavillion dv6000

    THANKS!
    -Jordan

  2. #2
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Hi there.
    Did you get a recovery disk with it?
    IF so, use that. But you will lose any saved data doing that.

    Good luck
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    www.RapVibez.com
    Posts
    79

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by KarmaKiller View Post
    Hi there.
    Did you get a recovery disk with it?
    IF so, use that. But you will lose any saved data doing that.

    Good luck
    no i dont have any of the disks....is there some other way i can do this ?
    and i know i will lose all saved data...thats what i want to do....like erase everything and start fresh....

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    13
    You can purchase an OS disk such as these. Assuming your boot sequence is set up where your CD/DVD drive is read before your HD you ought to just be able to pop it in and follow the steps.

    If you don't even want an OS, which I doubt, you can just format your HD with DOS or get a third party software such as Boot and Nuke and wipe your HD clean.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    I have exactly the same laptop and I got some recovery disks sent to me because I didn't get them at the right time. Have you had any problems with your laptop connecting to the internet? Because I don't know whether it is just my laptop or all laptops of this make. Instead of just turning it on and it being connected like it was when I first got it I now have to go through the whole process of connecting it all over again everytime I turn it on. Is there any way I can reset my laptop and start all over again?

    I hope I have helped with the question, just get in touch with who you bought it off or go to the HP website and they will send you some recovery disks in the post. It comes with instructions so you will know what to do. It takes a while so I wouldnt do it if you need the laptop soon.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member dr_roberts49's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland
    Posts
    1,654
    Goto Start and then Programs. Look for HP Recovery Manager. Follow the menu prompts. You can make ONE set of recovery disks. You should also have a recovery partition on your hardrive that will restore your computer to its original settings.

    Robert
    "The philosphy of one century is the common sense of the next"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Disk

    I have an hp Compaq nc6000 and the disk drive no longer worker and Most of my programs are gone is there a way i can delete everything and start fresh with the disk drive working again please thanks

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    Hi, Atwown:

    Welcome to TechIMO.

    Did you already try the recovery disc? When you say "disk drive", are you talking about a CD/DVD drive or your hard drive. Running the recovery disc will not fix a bad hard drive.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    queenbee

    I have a hp compaq nx6110 and i want to reboot it to origanial settings, how do I do that? I dont have any of the dick!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2
    what happened was my daughter on got on my labtop and some how put a password on it and now i cant use it. It will not let me get to the start screen. It wil load and then it says hp with a blue back ground and and it say to press ctrl,alt and delete, at the same time then it go to a administartor and ask for a password. If you can help me umlock it it would be great.

  11. #11
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    From what your describing, that would be a BIOS password. The only way to reset that is to remove the CMOS battery from the motherboard, and replacing after a short period of time. There is no way to crack the BIOS password that I'm aware of.
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  12. #12
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    I know you can call Dell, prove you own the laptop (no such thing as a labtop, btw) & they can reset the BIOS password. I'm guessing HP has a similar procedure.

    This sounds like you are looking for the Windows password though. Try your usual user name & no password if you didn't have one. If your user is Administrator, make sure it is spelled right.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    0
    Need to re-set my HP2000 note book to factory specifications

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Restoring my Compaq laptop to Factory Backup...
    By laguy in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2005, 01:28 PM
  2. Brand Laptop vs. Non-Brand Laptop
    By hbcao2004 in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: December 27th, 2004, 11:59 AM
  3. Need to reset BIOS password on Samsung GT6000 Laptop
    By christopherpm in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 30th, 2003, 12:25 PM
  4. Which brand of Laptop do you have?
    By jpheg in forum Mobile Computing
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: November 25th, 2002, 11:19 AM
  5. FS: Sony DSC-F707 Digi-Cam (brand new. factory sealed box.)
    By ozziegn in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 24th, 2002, 11:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc