+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Modular Bay error message on my Dell Laptop

    Hi all out there,

    I have a Dell which has been running on windows xp now. It has however crashed and returns the error below. I have re-installed different OS's but has exactly the same problem at start up. I have just put in redhat release 5 but at times it works and at times it fails with the same error. here is the error. pls help. However, I am still able to use the system.
    """""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
    The device in the system modular bay can not be identified. It may not be completely inserted or may have some other prOblem. Please read and complete these steps in order.
    1. Press the device completely into the bay
    2. Power off the system
    3. Press power button to retry detecting the device
    Press ESC TO ignore the error

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    Hi, dotNET:

    Welcome to TechIMO. "A Dell" would be which model?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy

    .
    Last edited by whitehairedjeff; July 7th, 2008 at 02:09 PM. Reason: delete

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    It appears we'll never know.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question error in modular bay

    im expieriencing the same error at startup.
    this my second time with the error.
    i have an xps M1730 (which is a dell)
    i dont know what it means

    what is a modular bay? or where is it i mean.

    The device in the system modular bay can not be identified. It may not be completely inserted or may have some other problem. Please read and complete these steps in order.
    1. Press the device completely into the bay
    2. Power off the system
    3. Press power button to retry detecting the device
    Press ESC TO ignore the error




    Kelsey06232004@gmail.com

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Red face same problem!! could this be cd drive?

    hi! i have the same problem. also, my cd burning device isn't working. so i'm thinking that something is wrong with my cd drive inside my computer. i have a dell inspiron 6400.

    please help!!!

    and yes i recieve the same messages as above.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    C 640

    I seem to get the same problem for Dell Latitude C640 (I know its kinda old now). Still the worst part is when I even try to open bios (F2) or Single-boot (F12) I cant.
    Sometimes like it fixes it self from the air and detects F12 and I start it from the HDD. (I believe the problem is in my HDD).
    I dont turn off my PC now I only put it on stend by to stend by the working condition . Sadly I sometimes get the "blue window" which automaticly restarts my PC and takes me back to the previous problem.
    Any solution other than "buy a new pc/hdd"?

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    Hi, DellC649:

    Well, at least we know the model.

    F12 gets you to the utility partition, where you can run the Dell diagnostics. I would go there and run the confidence test on the bay module. I assume this is a CD drive or something?

    Accessing the BIOS (F2) can be tricky. The timing for certain models is very finicky. Remember not to HOLD the F2 key down but tap it quickly and repeatedly as soon as the blue Dell logo appears.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1

    Smile Hi dotNET;2512950

    from j.osafo@yahoo.com to dotNET;2512950

    It is not any big problem, the problem is from the CD/DVD R/WR
    so just remove and insert it well. if the problem persist, change or replace with new one the CD/DVD R/WR

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1
    I also have a Dell Xps (M1730) Running 2 x NVIDIA GeForce 8800M GTX

    Can I upgrade these cards with it being a laptop? Not an Issue if not just thought I would ask the question

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Donald 'Diezel' Dalziel

    PROBLEM FIXED !!!

    Youre problem is your'e CD/DVD drive. The modular bay is where the cd drive is inserted, either completely remove your'e CD/DVD drive and the computer should boot up fine or if your'e wanting the drive, then try re-inserting it a few times, if no luck then a replacement drive should fix it.

    I know this post is old, but looking through it there just seemed to be a lot of questions and no real fix.

    Diezel.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    PROBLEM FIXED !!!

    Youre problem is your'e CD/DVD drive. The modular bay is where the cd drive is inserted, either completely remove your'e CD/DVD drive and the computer should boot up fine or if your'e wanting the drive, then try re-inserting it a few times, if no luck then a replacement drive should fix it.

    I know this post is old, but looking through it there just seemed to be a lot of questions and no real fix.

    Diezel.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: Modular Bay message on my Dell Laptop

    Hey guys! I had the same problem on my Dell Inspiron 2200. I figured out what it was. On the left side of my laptop, the corner closest to my belly, there is a little card that you can remove. I removed it, dusted it off, put it back in, made sure it was secure, and powered off the device. After that, I powered the device back on, and found that it worked, and my laptop went straight to startup with no error message. Then when my laptop started up, it was working perfectly fine, but it is really slow still. I had this message pop up every time I would turn my laptop on for a while but totally ignored it and it made my laptop really slow over time. I dont know if that is why, but it could be that, or just the fact that it IS really old and had been used before me. I never really thought much of it, but eventually, my laptop would make a grinding noise when it would turn on and off. I hope this helps. I dont know where the little card is on every Dell, I just know where it is on my Inspiron 2200.... I also pushed in the cd/dvd thing, and it did NOT work. I hope this was helpful!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HELP WITH MY LAPTOP.. IT GIVES ME AN ERROR MESSAGE
    By migi1515 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2008, 07:20 PM
  2. new dell laptop... how do I turn off the dell alert system??
    By zskillz in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 25th, 2008, 04:52 PM
  3. hotswap laptop harddrives in pc through 5.25 bay
    By sr71000 in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 25th, 2005, 12:37 PM
  4. Lotus Notes error? Cannot convert Notes Rich Text message to MIME message
    By [Neo770] in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 1st, 2005, 07:27 PM
  5. Power Supplies... Modular or Non-modular
    By pitbull64 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 28th, 2005, 12:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc