+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    11,817
    Blog Entries
    69

    Well, this is weird.

    I was going to do a repair installation of WinXP on my computer that crashed a week ago. But before running the reinstall, I disconnected all the disk drives except the boot drive (a 320 GB SATA) to make sure not to confuse everything, and I replugged the drive in to the lowest-numbered SATA connector on the motherboard to simplify things. I turned on the machine -- and it booted right up into Windows.

    So I've spared myself a passel of work, but I don't know why.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley

  2. #2
    Instigator Atomic Rooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Healdsburg, CA
    Posts
    13,673
    Could be a hosed drive.

    Being that they are hot swappable, you could plug them in one by one and run a diagnosis utility on each one.
    Unofficial TechIMO record holder for the number of times being added and removed from beemer's ignore list.

  3. #3
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    11,817
    Blog Entries
    69
    Why would that affect it? It's the same boot drive I was using all along, and it was set as the first boot priority (after CDROM, that is). All I changed was the SATA connector (it's now SATAII 0); and the only other bootable drive in the system is an older IDE drive whose connector hasn't been changed. There is a third drive, a brand new (and essentially empty) 1 TB SATA (now on SATAII 1), but it's not bootable.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley

  4. #4
    Instigator Atomic Rooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Healdsburg, CA
    Posts
    13,673
    If, let's say, the IDE drive were bad, it could cause the system to not boot up.

    Oh wait, are all the drives currently connected?
    Unofficial TechIMO record holder for the number of times being added and removed from beemer's ignore list.

  5. #5
    Onii-san Bizkitkid2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    11,491
    Going on what AR is saying, can you boot with all the drives plugged in, or only with the boot drive plugged in?


    And if you changed to a different SATA port, the one you were using before could have gone bad. I had a motherboard do that on me before.
    One by one the penguins steal my sanity.

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  6. #6
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    It doesn't have to be a bootable device either, I've twice had a bad network card that would stop the computer from booting..
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  7. #7
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    11,817
    Blog Entries
    69
    (1) After I got it working, it did boot up with all drives attached.

    (2) Networking is via a Realtek 8111C chip on the motherboard (10/100/1000).

    (3) And after the latest MS updates were added (I have automatic update turned on) it went back to its old pattern of rebooting cyclically.

    Perhaps it's overheating, and worked only because it had cooled down?
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley

  8. #8
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    11,817
    Blog Entries
    69
    I tried a repair installation with a slipstreamed disk I had made with SP2; that failed, giving an error message that a Windows/configuration file was corrupt. But when I rebooted, the damn thing worked again.

    I don't know where the hell I am. I've made a slipstreamed SP3 install disk using nLite. If all else fails I'll install it on the new 1 TB drive, and reinstall all my bloody programs.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Please Help this is Weird?
    By lolper in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 25th, 2007, 09:11 PM
  2. weird, weird problem...help!
    By Alrededor in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 16th, 2005, 12:24 AM
  3. Some weird questions and some not so weird
    By 91SEE-ARE-EX-Si in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: July 29th, 2004, 01:52 AM
  4. Am i weird?
    By GroundZero3 in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: September 12th, 2002, 08:18 PM
  5. weird, man..really weird...
    By cracked in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2002, 12:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc