+ Reply to Thread

Talking A question of .... Just kidding ! I booted my new computer! :o )

Hello all - this thread is for all the guys and gals who have helped me with my system building fears over the past 3 weeks You know who you are so this thread is for you ;0

I installed everything. I took deep breaths. I triple checked every wire, connection, jumper setting, power cable, wire color, everything I could. I recorded every setting, etc I did on paper.
    I plugged in the system, the monitor, keyboard. No mouse yet, no internet. Just me and the Post. Hopefully just me and the BIOS. It's a war. I am a soldier.

I pushed the power button. blank screen. Hitting delete frantically. UP POPS THE BIOS SCREEN - the Post test passed perfectly ! No beeps, no talking, just a perfect boot to the bios!

Yippe! Nothing blew up. Nothing is smoking, melting, etc. All the fans are spinning. Spinning the correct way too! 3 in, 3 out.
    I run to hardware monitor. P4 sitting at 85 degrees. Temp goes up a tad to 87 degrees. Tops off idle at 89 degrees. I watch it - and I am not kidding - for 2 hours sitting on my floor. It does not spike or drop. Fans run perfect for the 2 hours. No funny sounds, no problems!

- or so I thought. I decide it's time to use my old computer to find the latest drivers for the items in my new computer. But first, I must set all the bios options that I know on the new computer. I can come back to the ones I do not understand later when I find out what they do. It's all good, I set the options, save and reboot. I tap delete again, back to bios - options are OK.

- here comes the *sole* problem. ( Pretty good for my first build I think - then again I have had some help here, and a massive 1000 plus page instructional book about computers at my side lol ) ( www.upgradingandreparingpcs.com )