+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002

    What causes a motherboard to go bad

    In reference to the Post we need a young priest and an old priest. What would cause a MB to go bad?

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member Target's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Bettendorf, Iowa
    Geez......there are a ton of things that could make a motherboard go bad.

    Incorrect voltage supplied to it, grounding of the pins on the back to the case, a scratch of one or more of the traces on the PCB, bad components from the factory.....the list could go on and on.
    Through the NIC, on the cat5, off the gateway router, out the cable modem....nothin' but net.

  3. #3
    iNsAn3 mEMBER Daft_Ghosty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    South Cackolacky (ak
    most common is static shock..
    In life one must Chill

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member cadetstimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Oceanside CA
    Bad Flash
    Temperature Overheat/extreme Heat-Cool cycles
    Static Charge/Build Up
    Internal from poor mounting / grounding / peripheral
    External from phone line / Lan Line / Speakers / Monitor
    Wall Outlet with a grounding prong that doesn't work
    RAM chip failure
    Video Card failure
    CPU chip failure
    Leaky CMOS battery
    Foreign material that allows a short to occur
    Dust - Conductive Thermal Compound -
    Power Supply Failure/Out of Tolerance
    Powerful Magnetic feild nearby

  5. #5
    Member mpc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Bay Area
    I find that if you step on them or dump a lot of water on 'em....they have a tendancy to go bad.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by originx7 View Post
    In reference to the Post we need a young priest and an old priest. What would cause a MB to go bad?

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member cksboy15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Columbus, Ohio, Unit
    Well lets see here.
    the occasional fall
    dogs knowcking over computer
    kittens that don't quite know that a litter box exists
    incorrect voltages
    power surges

    I think I missed a few
    Verizon FiOS Tier 2 Technical Support

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Woodstock, VT
    ... resetting CMOS with board powered up....

    Years ago when I worked in consumer electronics store, I got an idea on how to sell the store's favorite high-end VCR model. I pulled the bottom cover off the unit exposing the bottom, foil side of the main board. Then I took a lamp cord with a AC plug on one end and bare tinned leads on the other. With wide-eyed potential buyers looking on, I had the guys attach the 110v ground to the chassis of the VCR, and then rake the hot lead all over the foil board.

    Needless to say it was quite the show, sparks and all. We then would unplug the AC cord, stick a tape in the VCR, and show that it still worked fine. After that, the sales guys had it rather easy: "Nothing can kill this thing." It made work a lot of fun.

  9. #9
    Instigator Atomic Rooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Healdsburg, CA
    You guys forgot a couple. . .

    8 years of lying dormant until a new user resurrects it.

    Bad/leaking capacitors.
    Unofficial TechIMO record holder for the number of times being added and removed from beemer's ignore list.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc