+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    Question Maxtor N256 (8G) jumper

    Does anyone know the jumper settings for Master for the Maxtor N256. (I have been using it as a slave but have put it in another computer)
    the pins are:

    *** *
    *****

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    Is this your drive?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    CD-rom drive not recognised

    First, thanks Eric the link worked.

    Now... my CD-ROM (Acer CDR/RW) is not recognised. To test the IDE connection I switched cables it with my HDD... that wasn't recognised but the Acer (on the HDD cable)was ??
    Could the IDE port be (gosh!) dead?
    Or is it a Bios problem?

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    I'll tell "eric" that his link worked.

    Make sure you have the jumper on the CD-ROM set to "Slave" as well. Here's some food-for-thought as well. Put the CD/ROM and CD-RW drive on the same cable. Leave the HDD by itself or w/ another HDD. It's not good practice to mix IDE devices. Keep the likes together.

    EDIT - I think I may have sounded fuzzy there. It should look something like this:

    1st IDE Channel

    HDD0 - Master
    HDD1 - Slave (if applicable)

    2nd IDE Channel

    CD-ROM - Master
    CD-RW - Slave
    Last edited by EvilRick; January 6th, 2003 at 03:34 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    CDR/RW cont.

    EvilRick a.k.a. Eric ? doesn't really ring, does it :-)

    I had a CD-ROM and a CDR/WR with 2 HDD's on my system this morning all working happily together.

    I removed one HDD and the CD-ROM so I now have:
    1 HDD and the CDR/RW (on seperate IDE's

    I changed the CDR/RW from slave to master but it isn't recognised.

    If I put the HDD over to the IDE for the CDR/RW it isn't recognised either.

    Motherboard: K6XV3+/66

    Intereting... If I disconnect the IDE cable to the CDR/RW it functions (I can open and close it), if I reconnect the IDE cable the CDR/WR goes dead !!
    Last edited by SteveHurley1; January 6th, 2003 at 04:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    Are they not showing up in the BIOS, or when the PC boots up?

    If not when the PC boots, then you will probably need to go in and set them to "AUTO" in the BIOS so that it can find them correctly.

    If they're not showing in the BIOS at all, then that's a different story. Make sure they're both on the end of the IDE cables, make sure the red stripe is closest to the power connector.

    Let us know what happens.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    Time Out

    What happened... I am taking Time Out for five minutes with a 12 year old Single Malt :-)))
    Back soon

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    Onwards Yorick

    The HDD shows up in the Bios, the CDR/RW not.

    Interesting though, this cable business. The CD is for sure 'alive' but only when the IDE is not attached.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    Make sure it ain't backwards on the mobo.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    Head hung in shame :-((

    oopps! OK, I'll go flagilate myself in the corner with a few spare IDE cables.

    Thanks a 1,000,000

    Steve

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    So, that fixed it? I hope so.


    - "Eric"

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    All Hunky Dory

    It up and running, installing drivers and being very friendly.

    PS: Wierd Windows. If you are installing English win98 with a German Keyboard and click on Language Support you get to choose from Japanese to Greek. But it DOES NOT install English support for the keyboard. You have to go to Control > Keyboard > language > add via CD ROM... Just to let you know.

    A toast to you from Sana'a, Yemen

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1

    Re: Maxtor N256 (8G) jumper

    i have the same problem with my Maxtor N256 hard disk.
    How did you solve it? In which way i have to put the jumper j50?

    Thak you in advance

    Andrea

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member griobhta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,810

    Re: Re: Maxtor N256 (8G) jumper

    Originally posted by zano
    i have the same problem with my Maxtor N256 hard disk.
    How did you solve it? In which way i have to put the jumper j50?

    Thak you in advance

    Andrea
    click on the link above that EvilRick posted there are some pics there showing how to set slave master.

    g

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany (temp)
    Posts
    89

    maxtor

    Hi Andrea,

    look up the message list to

    EvilRick
    P3 TF Needer

    That will give a link to the maxtor page.

    My problem was the cable where it connects to the main board. I had it the wrong way round.

    Steve

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    I have a N256, but a different model number.
    My pins look like this,
    . . . . .
    . . . .
    I´m not sure if it might help but It´s a 20 gig model.
    If you have the answer to my prob. plz mail me. coolg2hotmail.com

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc