+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38

    I can't find my local area connection

    i recenetlly erased my hard drive. And when rebooted it found out i can't connect to my dorms network. After farther investigation i figure out my local area connection icon isn't where its spose to be. So then i go to run, command, ipconfig and all i get is "windows ip configuration". I used to be able to connect to it, anyone know how i could fix this problem? Someone suggested reerasing it, but i don't wanna do that over again cause its a b*tch. I have a dell... is there some cd i need? I'm pretty sure windows should detect it by itself but i might be wrong.

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    What do you mean "recently erased my hard drive", and "when rebooted it found out i can't connect to my dorms network"? Did you reformat the drive and reinstall windows? Try to explain a little better what you did and what you want to do.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    i erased my hard drive using a boot disc from http://www.killdisk.com/. I reinstalled windows XP and attempted to log onto the internet using the dorm's interenet service, which didn't work. So i then reinstalled everything that dell gave using the cds that were provided. And tried to reconnect to the internet using the instructions given to us to acess the interenet. Which can be found at http://www.resnet.wvu.edu/. Under network connection guide. And from there i found out i can't find local area connection.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    all i get i see where local area network should be is some number thing like 12547 or somthing. I'm not on my computer so i can't tell u exactly what numbers are there.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    Go to the command prompt and type "ipconfig /all". Post the results here.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    "windows ip configuration".

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    10,819
    hehe.

    He means to post stuff like the ip address and is dhcp enabled etc.

    Did you go to the command prompt? That is the xp version of a "dos prompt".

    Its under "all programs, accesories, command prompt"...go there and type in "ipconfig /all" without the quotes.

    Tell us what it says for ethernet 1

    JP
    "Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    i went to run, then enter command, which goes to dos that says: cannot load VDM IPX/SPX support
    Microsoft<R> Windows DOS
    <C>Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001

    C:/docume~1/ari..

    when i write ipconfig /all, i get "windows ip configuration". and goes back to

    C:/docume~1/ari..

    which does the same thing where u said to look at.

    cept in the begining it says
    Microsoft Windows XP[version 5.1.2600]
    <C>Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp

    C:/.../ipconfig /all

    windows ip configuration

    c:/...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    memphis,tn
    Posts
    648
    does your network use the ipx/spx protocol
    if so it will need to be loaded from the installation cd
    "the chief cause of problems is solutions!"

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    In the device manager, in Network Adapters, are there any errors? What is listed for devices?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    network adapters? wheres that? where would i find ipx/spx protocol?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    bumpity bump

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    You need to get into the device manager, right click My Computer>Properties>Hardware>Device Manager. In Device manager see what is listed under Network Adapters. If you don't have a Network Adapter listed then windows may not install any protocols for networking. I would think you need TCP/IP not ipx/spx.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    nothing just 1394 Net Adapter. So TCP/IP or IPX/SPX can be found where? A dell installation cd?

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    10,819
    1394 net adapter..what is that? Is that a nic? Where on the computer did you actually hook up to the "local network"? Because before you need to worry about tcp/ip, you need a NIC...in other words a network card...do you have some sort of Firewire (1394) network card?

    JP
    "Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    I'm assuming 1394 Net Adapter is the same as 1394 that is a firewire adapter.

    I'm sure I have all the hardware i need for connecting to the interenet, but after bootdisking my HD i'm not sure how to get my interenet back on. I pluged the wire into the only thing it fit into and has been there since I got my computer. before and after bootdsiking it.

  17. #17
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    10,819
    Are there any yellow or red question marks in your Device Manager?

    You should have a network card listed under "Network adapters"..if there is a yellow or red question mark, maybe it is the network adapter just needing its drivers.

    JP

    Try this. go to the DOS propmpt again and type in

    ping 127.0.0.1 if you have a nic in the machine it will respond with "reply from 127.0.0.1 blah blah"

    if not it will say unknwon host or timed out or some other error.
    "Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Texas, unfortu
    Posts
    379
    is your lan card seated securely, i wonder if using the internet wizard would help? when i set up xp i had to go through it to get my drivers loaded..

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    yea i got a couple of lines that say reply...

    followed by ping statistics...

    i already ran internet wizard and it says it can't connect.

  20. #20
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    10,819
    what did it say for packet loss??

    did it say 0% loss...or 100% loss...or 50% loss..or what?

    JP
    "Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc